The Southern Coterie Sweet Tea

I never liked sweet tea until I moved down South, and that’s probably because it tastes totally different up North. I still won’t drink “Yankee” sweet tea. And I’ll be honest, Bojangles sweet tea is a huge weakness of mine. I was perusing one of my favorite sites, Southern Living’s blog “The Daily South” (which if you don’t read you should definitely get on that), and they had a post about sweet tea. I was getting antsy about figuring how to make real Southern sweet tea, and here was my perfect starting point! They even gave the recipe for Southern Coterie’s sweet tea recipe.

Ingredients

– 16 cups of water

– 4 family sized tea bags (Luzianne or Lipton)

– 1 1/2 to 2 cups of sugar

Directions

Boil water in a pot. (My pot didn’t fit all 16 cups, just 12, so I added the extra water post steeping straight into the jug.) Steep tea bags  in water for EXACTLY 6 minutes. Pour sugar into a separate container and then pour in the tea and stir.

I went out and bought a nice jug from Walmart because you know what, for the house wine of the South I want it to go into something special. $10 can go a long way at Walmart, anyways! When I poured in the sugar, it cracked me up. Just look at how much is in there! And I went with the 1 1/2 cups too!

sugar

I set a timer to make sure the tea bags steeped for 6 minutes exactly. Then I used a cup to transfer the tea into the jug so it didn’t pour all over.

tea steeping

I tasted it once it wasn’t boiling hot, and it was still a little strong for my liking (also keep in mind I am totally judging this against Bojangles tea). I added 4 more cups of water after I took the picture below, and I like it a lot more now that I cut it down. It wasn’t too sweet, just a little too strong. It could also be due to that fact that I am a black tea snob and hate Lipton in general. Should have gone with Luzianne.

tea done

Cheers, y’all!

Leave a Reply

