The Nice Gesture

My first food post! It’s almost the end of the second financial quarter, and work has been killer for my department. We’re all sorts of slammed, hence why I haven’t been posting. Things have eased up for me a tiny bit, and I wanted to do a little something nice for my colleagues. What better way is there to make everyone happy than by bringing in food? I swear this office is worse than college kids. If there is even a rumor of free food left in the kitchen it’s GONE in seconds. Last summer, the other interns and I would even go into empty conference rooms after morning meetings and scavenge for free food. Friday mornings were always sucessful due to a standing management breakfast meeting.

I went through my Pintrest food boards to find something special I wanted to present to everyone, because I believe the kind of food you make is a representation of you as a person. Not to mention there was a terrible situation this past Christmas where I big time lost the department-wide bake contest, so I also feel like I need to redeem myself. It’s still too painful to recall. Stupid overheated oven!! None of the amazing recipes I have on Pintrest were up to par with what I wanted to make, so I went to my #1 source for recipes – Paula Deen. She’s my girl. I was just browsing her site when I found the “What’s In Season” section featuring raspberries. Now, I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like raspberries, so I thought this would be perfect. And it was. I found this recipe for Vanilla Bean Crepes with Marscapone Filling. Easy to make, easy to transport on my 35 minute commute, and delicious to eat. I decided to go ahead and double the recipe since I have just over  a dozen coworkers in my actual department, but we work alongside another dozen or so people who would definitely take advantage of the delectable.

Ingredients

2 (8-ounce) containers mascarpone cheese
6 tablespoons firmly packed brown sugar, divided
3 vanilla beans*, split lengthwise and divided
2 eggs
1½ cups milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon salt
Garnish: whipped cream, fresh raspberries

Directions

1. In a medium bowl, combine mascarpone cheese and ¼ cup brown sugar. Scrape seeds from 2 vanilla beans into mascarpone mixture; beat at medium speed with a mixer until smooth. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.
2. In the container of a blender, combine eggs, milk, flour, salt, and remaining 2 tablespoons brown sugar. Scrape seeds from remaining vanilla bean into egg mixture. Process until mixture is very smooth, scraping down sides as necessary. Refrigerate batter for 1 hour.
3. Heat a 10-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Spray skillet with nonstick cooking spray. Pour about ¼ cup batter into skillet, and quickly swirl to coat bottom of skillet. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes or until edges start to crisp and brown. Loosen crêpe with a spatula, and carefully turn over; cook for 30 seconds longer. Repeat procedure with remaining batter, stacking crêpes on a plate. Cover with a damp paper towel until ready to assemble.
4. Spread about 3 tablespoons mascarpone filling over each crêpe. Fold each crêpe in half twice to form a wedge. Serve with whipped cream and raspberries, if desired.
*You can substitute 2 tablespoons vanilla bean paste, divided, for the 3 vanilla beans. Use 1½ tablespoons vanilla bean paste in mascarpone mixture and ½ tablespoon vanilla bean paste in crêpe batter. Recipe courtsey of Paula Deen.

I had never made crepes before and I knew they can be kind of tricky, so I looked up some tips beforehand. One recurring tip I saw was to make the batter in advance, 8 hours or so. I decided to make everything the night before I wanted to bring it in, but I got a little nervous of wasting the time and money by making my crepes so far in advance. What if they got soggy?! I made the batter the night before and woke up early to make the crepes before work. I’m that weird. Whatever, I had to go in early, anyways.

I had to go to a nicer super market to find the actual vanilla bean and marscapone cheese, and they’re both pretty pricey, but oh my is it delicious. I licked the spatula after I was done transferring it. I noticed a lot of bigger chunks of brown sugar in the mixture, so I used a spoon to crush them as I transferred.

photo_1

The crepes themselves….they look like tortillas. I think i needed to spread the batter out more and use a little less of it, then they would have been more airy and look like normal crepes. They taste fine, and I cut them up into quarters since it would be easier with many people eating so they don’t look as bad anymore.

photo_3

See, they really do look like tortillas lol

But all together, they taste SO delicious.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

